Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Potassium Permanganate
After all these years I thought I may as well get back on the board and post something of possible use.

As an actual Comical Engineer I thought may as well start with Potassium Permanganate. It's a chemical with several excellent uses.   It's chemical formula is KMnO4. It is also known as 'Condy’s Crystals' or 'permanganate of potash'.   

Let me start by saying DO NOT handle crystals it with your fingers, or splash strong solutions on your hands - it will stain them brown. If it can be done, I've done it......  Ideally, Potassium Permanganate should be stored in a nonreactive plastic bottle with a Teflon coated cap. Most plastic bottles and non-coated caps should be fine.  

1.   It is superb for making fires when mixed with either Glycerin, or antifreeze (which is Ethylene Glycol) or Glycol-Ether based brake fluids....Place a teaspoon of Potassium Permanganate on a flat surface and carefully add the same amount of Glycerin. Here's a video showing one way of doing it; pouring the the glycerin through the kindling and onto the permanganate: KMnO4 and Glycerin.   A similar, but usually slower, reaction to that shown in the video will be obtained with either antifreeze or brake fluid.
Key comments:
  • The reaction usually takes a few seconds to initiate. Give it the time needed; stay back and get ready to add kindling & wood. 
  • Once you start to see fumes (smoke) you need to be sure you're a a few feet away.
  • FWIW, "Pre-wrapped' Glycerins are sold as suppositories!

If you mix sugar with the Glycerin before adding the permanganate, you’ll get decent signal smoke.  

Due to its deep violet color, Strong potassium permanganate solution can be used to stain snow if you need to leave an emergency signal....